Home » humor » Hot Chicken

Hot Chicken

Chickens

Chickens (Photo credit: Allie’s.Dad)

“Let’s gather around this delicious chicken dinner that mother has prepared for us. We know that the Reverend will be well provided for, because he has God, so he and his family won’t miss this organic chicken, and all the other organic meat I stole. Let’s give thanks.”

This may or may not be the scene around the table of our “hot” chicken but I have conjured up many scenes where I bust in and take my chicken back.

A few days after my hard-sought-after and expensive organic meat purchase, it was stolen right from our freezer. What the what? You have no idea how hard I tried to find organic meat at a “reasonable” price around these netherparts of the province. Not as easy as it sounds. Alas, the interweb is a beautiful thing and on a dark, cold night in the middle of a mostly abandoned church parking lot (not ours), we attained this elusive organic meat of various kinds. I’m not kidding, that’s how it went down and I don’t have a receipt to prove it!

I thought all sorts of tasty thoughts about that meat. Then, it was gone.

Is there a black market for stolen meat in this middle-of-nowhere? Who steals meat out of the Reverend’s freezer? I mean, we leave our garage door open wide 90% of the time, thinking that an open door is a door not worth breaking into. But that doesn’t mean someone should actually walk through that door with nefarious reasons! We live in Small Town, Alberta, and have left that door open (we have four small children peeps, we don’t just leave that door open ourselves) with not a single incident, in five years, until last week. Someone got smart to the small town ways and was apparently hungry for our organic meat. They stole the Reverend’s tools too. I guess they needed something to cut the meat with.

I hope you enjoy your Hot Chicken, whoever-you-are. I promise not to go all ninja on you if you return the chicken, and other delicious meats, unharmed to our freezer. I’ll leave the door open.

2 thoughts on “Hot Chicken

  1. Yikes! Somebody stole chicken out of your FREEZER?! What is this world coming to?! Y’all must have some crazy brave people up there in Canada. People around my area are still so superstitious about The Preacher’s House that they won’t hardly even spit on my driveway. 🙂 I’m enjoying your new blog & hope that the Lord repays you three-fold all the meat you have lost. 🙂

    • Brave or stupid. LOL! They don’t know my ninja moves, which is why I will not pull those out if they return the meat. Who knows? It could have been someone who didn’t actually know it was “the Preacher’s House” and has no idea how much I miss my organic meat. Sigh. We needed a reason to actually lock our doors so there it is.

Leave a Reply

